Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Question(s) for people who have flown in for past events  (Read 2234 times)
McNair
Been here a while.

« on: December 27, 2011, 11:12:46 pm »

What was your experience with bringing your gear and gun(s) with you?
I've no experience taking guns with me prior. The last time I flew anywhere was in 2002 and I only had a bag and suitcase going to Alaska.
Mercy
Global Moderator
Knows what he's talking about...

Army # 24172366

« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 06:39:38 am »

I travel with firearms all the time...and airsoft quite a bit. You do not need TSA locks for a firearm and it's actually discouraged. If TSA wants to inspect a bag designated as a firearm they will contact the passenger for the combination. Use combination locks not keys you will inevitably misplace a key.  Have a couple of spare locks in the box for when they are damaged in transit...you can't get your bag back on the airplane for the trip home without locks and finding locks as you rush to the airport is a pain in the ass.

Don't buy a $12 gun box and expect it to pass inspection. If it's too flexible and can be significantly separated even with the locks on; they will reject your firearm for transport. It needs to be pretty rigid...ask around and see if you can borrow a Pelican box or something for transport.

It is a very straight forward process at the airport. Shooting equipment is accepted as checked baggage.  All your other gear INCLUDING BBs should also go as checked baggage.  Your bayonet in checked bag, no problem, your BBs, no problem, DO NOT bring stuff like fake grenades and mines these are a problem. Fake grenades I won't travel with at all, they are a pretty big grey area that I don't want to have to be the Supreme Court test case on. Don't plan on bringing anything airsofty in carry on baggage...when you are tired or late you will make a mistake and end up with some 'splaining to do.